Painting with light

Last weekend the lights in London were really pretty, so I decided to play with my camera a little. I tried to change the aperture and the shutter speed in every shot, creating different patterns and most importantly, movement. After some experiences, I noticed that by moving the camera slightly (or fast) while the photo was being taken, some really interesting patterns of light were created.

shutter

Above you can see 4 pictures taken in 4 different ways. Even though they are the same view, the effect in each of them is quite different. It felt like I was painting with light, since I could create letters and lines according to the movement of my hands.

Funnily enough, this week we had a core lesson on photography.

3 thoughts on “Painting with light

Leave a Reply

