Bugception

DSC_0025

On one of my many walks around London, in the hope of finding inspiration, I found these enormous plastic bugs that I thought of using as props for my FMP and table display at this year’s Summer Show.

DSC_0020

DSC_0023

I got two beetles and one grasshopper: I intend to paint them black/white and add some detailed illustrations on their bodies. My goal is to turn the bugs that I usually illustrate on paper  into something tactile, as if “bringing them to  life” with these 3D models.

DSC_0027

This is the first one I’m doing, it will have a white base and black details: I am experimenting with this one in what comes to materials I can use. I really want to see if it’s possible for me to illustrate the bug using the same biro pen I used on paper but I’m not sure if the ink will react well with an acrylic base.

His name is Jeremy.

Leave a Reply

